Sybilline

Living and learning…

Dating a Latina

 
We learn a lot from TV and one of the things I remember watching was American teenage girls bringing their dates home so their dad could meet them. The father would welcome the boy inside only to start questioning -interrogating- him about his intentions and make it absolutely clear that he CAN and WILL hurt him if anything were to happen to his little girl. Now this might also be the case for many Latinos but this was not the case with me!

I can’t speak for most because I really didn’t do much dating as a teenager -make that zilch dating- but if I had, I don’t think my parents were expecting my date to come knocking on the door. It looked to me that they only needed to meet the guy once it was getting serious. Other than that, they didn’t need to meet all the guys I’d go out with…you know, if I had.

I did wonder… “what if they were crazies or something?” But I guess my parents trusted my good judgement. And again, never really found out how it would have gone down in my teenage years.

College… I did do some dating then. Now here you wouldn’t expect your parents to be meeting all your dates, (which they didn’t). In this new digital age, getting dates didn’t only happen in person like before, or through blind dates. Thank goodness for this because I wasn’t very good at getting these in person.

So yup, I got me some dates online. Chat rooms were very popular back then, and instant messaging was a good source too. Yes, it can be dangerous, but I always told my family where I was and I always met my date in public.

I met very nice guys but it was always a “nice to meet you, buh bye.” Until I met THE ONE. I didn’t know it back then when I met him but yeah, he was worth the time to get to know better. How and when I knew he was THE ONE is another blog entirely but, basically, I knew we had something special because we had the best communication possible. It felt like I could talk to him about anything and everything and we just clicked! Not only that but he also had me when he smiled… *sigh*

In the end, my parents did meet my boyfriend, now husband, when we started getting serious. I don’t know about your parents but I think mine felt like they didn’t need to meet every guy I dated, not even the ones who would’ve lasted awhile. I think many Hispanic parents are more traditional and they want us to first decide whether they are worthwhile before bringing them home for dinner. Remember, we got lots of familia who tend to talk and if we are bringing different boys home all the time, well lets just say that would give them LOTS to talk about.

Pic above is of the hubby (then boyfriend) filling in as chambelan for my bestie. This pic is of us at that wedding.

  

Here is another picture of when we were dating. This is at Astroworld.

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .